2016 E-Learning Advisor of the Year Finalists

The North Carolina Virtual Public School is pleased to announce the finalists for the E-Learning Advisor / E-Learning Coordinator of the Year Award!


The following ELAs and ELCs across the state of North Carolina received nominations for this award.

Kristy Prokop – Mary Sidberry Mosley PLC in New Hanover County
Erin Schneider – Orange High School in Orange County
Lori Herring – John Hoggard High School in New Hanover County
Katy Bradley – Rutherford Early College in Rutherford County
Kathryn Capps – Croatan High School in Carteret County
Tricia Daffron – Currituck High School in Currituck County
Brad Grampa – DH Conley High School in Pitt County
Kayla Cliffe – Pender High School in Pender County
Stacy Koon – Western Alamance High School in Alamance/Burlington Schools
Kay Osswald – Lake Norman High School in Iredell/Statesville Schools
Teresa Heffelfinger – Shelby High School in Cleveland County
Lisa Pienkosz – Falls Lake Academy Charter


The following top six scoring candidates will move to phase two of the selection process.

Kristy Prokop – New Hanover County
Lori Herring – New Hanover County
Kathryn Capps – Carteret County
Kay Osswald – Iredell/Statesville Schools
Teresa Heffelfinger – Cleveland County

This recognition appropriately reflects the endless hours these individuals have spent helping students succeed.

On behalf of the North Carolina Virtual Public School, we extend our appreciation to these nominees for a job well done!

A special thank you is extended to all ELAs and ELCs in North Carolina schools.

We notice and appreciate your dedication, enthusiasm, patience and continued hard work!

Thank you ALL for everything you do for North Carolina’s students!


Award Description

The NCVPS E-Learning Advisor (ELA) and/or E-Learning Coordinator (ELC) award is to recognize an ELA or ELC whose innovative practices serve as a model for other schools or districts. Their innovation results in improving the overall effectiveness of online learning and contributes to the success of students taking NCVPS courses. This success has led to opportunities for students and improved student achievement.

Eligibility Criteria

Nominations were accepted from NCVPS teachers and NCVPS staff members. Each candidate was scored based on their work across the following categories:

  • Demonstrates innovation for e-learning.
  • Identifies unique ways for NCVPS to accommodate student needs, schedules, etc..
  • Demonstrates a high level of commitment to students and ability to bridge the gap between the face to face environment and NCVPS.
  • Recognizes NCVPS students and their successes.
  • Values student input and places students’ interests first in making online course scheduling decisions and communicating with NCVPS teachers, NCVPS staff, parents, and various stakeholders.
  • Consistently makes sound judgments that are pertinent to student success.
  • Clearly understands NCVPS guidelines/processes and consistently meets deadlines.
  • Regularly communicates with students and NCVPS teachers.