Dr. Adiaha Strange Receives the Exceptional Children Educator of Excellence Award

Sherry Bell (left), Dr. Adiaha Strange (center), and Beth Daniels (right)

The 67th Conference on Exceptional Children was held November 15-17 at the Koury Convention Center. The EC Educator of Excellence Awards Ceremony was held on the evening of November 16 and recipients were presented their awards by the Director of the Exceptional Children Division, Bill Hussey, Deputy State Superintendent, Dr. Maria Pitre-Martin, and State Superintendent, Mark Johnson.

The EC Educator of Excellence Award was created to pay special tribute to educators of exceptional children. One educator from each of the 115 school systems, one each from the Division of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, Division of Prison Education Services, Division of State Operated Healthcare Facilities, one educator per region from charter schools, and one Occupational Course of Study face-to-face (F2F) partner teacher with NCVPS was nominated and recognized at the awards ceremony.

Dr. Adiaha Strange was nominated for the award by NCVPS OCS Instructional Leader and OCS English Teacher, Beth Daniels.

Adiaha works at Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools’ Garinger High School where she is the EC Department Chair and is an OCS F2F Partner Teacher with our NCVPS OCS course teachers. She has had the pleasure of working in the field of special education since 1998 and has worked at Garinger High in the EC Dept her entire teaching career. Adiaha is a business owner proudly providing services to children and adults with disabilities under a contract with Medicaid, Medicare, and Veterans Assistance since 2000. Her research experience includes a qualitative phenomenological study to explore the attitudes, beliefs, and behavior of providers of adult care services with regards to their effect on the challenges faced by consumers with disabilities. Her business was founded after working in the classroom and seeing the need for additional transition and support for students, beyond high school.

Sherry Bell, Beth Daniels, and Wendy Kraft attended the awards ceremony to celebrate with Dr. Strange.